A digital place for people who access services, carers, staff and partner agencies, to share ideas around care co-ordination & care planning in mental health


In this post, Sabine writes about her journey with Mental Health……

By Sabine

My journey with Mental Health started in 2010 when my life went from being normal with a job and a happy home life, after 2 major events I no longer knew who I was, I had fear of leaving my house, being judged and being attacked again.

In 2011 I was referred to Touchstone and then onto the PD Network to do a programme called Journey, with the combination of the two I was able slowly to come out of my home and start to live my life better. Also in 2011 I was informed about a group called The SUN (Service User Network), and it was for service users using or used the services.

I was sure about going as I still had a fear that everybody knew what I had gone through and I would be judged again and worst still attacked for what had happened to me in 2010, a very nice gentleman called Tony, an Independent Involvement Worker from the PD Network, said he would come with me so that I wouldn’t be scared or alone, so I went and the rest is history.

I don’t know why I was scared as the first people I met were Beverley and Anne and they welcomed me with big smiles and made me feel so welcomed I went back month after month. Since I have been with the SUN I have got involved with a Hospital Inspection, reviews, events and helping with the refreshments and my confidence has grown that I now have a job working for Touchstone (Service User Consultant) and the Network (Involvement Worker) and it has also given me the confidence to try new things that even before my melt down would never have heard of or thought of doing.

So I would like to say a huge thank you for everyone who have helped and encouraged me to move forward in my life, given me that extra boost of confidence, encouragement and power to get my life back and to do the things I am doing today, because without Touchstone, Tony, Beverley, Anne and everyone else who have helped me to get to the position I am in today I don’t know what I would be doing or where I would be.

So a HUGE THANK YOU

Thank you for listening

Comments on: "My Journey through Mental Health" (1)

  1. Thank you for sharing your story; great that you have had a positive experience with a number of different services even better that you made decisions that have got you to where you are now. Inspiring!

    Like

Please share your thoughts:

Tag Cloud

The Mental Nurse

The inane ramblings of a mental health nursing student in the UK.

Academic Irregularities

Critical university studies, discourse and managerialism

donnajkemp

Sharing all things mental health nursing, service user and carer involvement, care planning, Care Programme Approach, recovery and wellbeing

The Academic Triangle

Teaching, Research and Admin

PhDanger

The evolving tale of my PhD as it happens

gate: The General Assessment Tool

The General Assessment Tool

Graeme Cumming

Author, Speaker, Blogger

Patient Leader

My continuing journey as a Patient Leader

lypftstudents

Excellence in nursing and AHP education

The Academy of Fabulous Stuff

Sharing all the fabulous things about the NHS.

Mental Health Cop

A venn diagram of policing, mental health and criminal justice

Critical Mental Health Nurses' Network

Working together to reclaim mental health nursing

A Caring Mind

A blog for carers of mental health

Stuck on Social Work

And what a great place to be

